ALL THINGS NEW.., HereToWin

Here to win=

Yesterday I ran in one of my favorite races of the year: GDL IMAGEN-KELLOGGS 10k. If I had to describe it in 3 words would be: lively, organized, and friendly!

This year they switched it up a little changing the location of the race. I thought it was going to be a slow-ish course with more hills than I can count on one hand! And let me tell you…I know about hills, I was part of the XC (Cross Country) team during College! But considering that the 1st place did it in 33′ I can only say it was a slow one for me! ha!

I didn’t PR but I did conquer those killer-hills! (51’32”) That’s a win! Specially after not running for a year!

I just started to run 2-3 days a week since February, and have been building up slowly-sl o  w   l    y!         But after this race I wonder how in the world I was able to stop running for a whole year? No answer to that yet-…Anyways…This year it’s different…I’m already setting my mind on 3 other races, one more 10k, one half-marathon, and a marathon! There is still much logistics and other things to consider, but in the mean time, I will be training for them!

Since I run by myself, accountability in running is non-existent -and that’s where this open-to-the-interweb-space blog comes in handy! I’ll use it to write about different obstacles, experiences and variables in the RUNNER’S LIFE and how I apply them in my training. So…

I’m starting this series #HereToWin

My first Goal with this is to shoot for a year. (starting June 2012) A year in which every month I will be exploring one of the many characteristics of the RUNNER’S LIFE.

Where did this title come from? First and foremost from my favorite book ever-the BIBLE. There are quite a few verses where the Christian life is seen as a race, here are a few:

let us also lay aside every weight, and sin which clings so closely, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us, Heb 12:1

Do you not know that in a race all the runners run, but only one receives the prize? So run that you may obtain it. Every athlete exercises self-control in all things. They do it to receive a perishable wreath, but we an imperishable. So I do not run aimlessly; I do not box as one beating the air. But I discipline my body and keep it under control, lest after preaching to others I myself should be disqualified. 1 Cor 9:24-27

Secondly, from a T-shirt I just bought and wore to the race… (picture to come)

Bottom line of life/running-

       I’m not here to rest/I’m here to race

       I’m not here to get comfortable/I’m here to get challenged

       I’m not here to receive a perishable wreath/I’m here to point others to the imperishable one

       I’m not here to be disqualified/I’m HERE to WIN

I would just like to wrap it up with this..

IF I rest, I rust- MARTIN LUTHER

Standard

Leave a Reply

